The ICC Cricket World Cup is the ICC's flagship one-day cricket event.

Nine editions of the tournament have taken place to date, with the event being won by Australia on four occasions (1987, 1999, 2003, 2007), West Indies twice (1975, 1979), and India (1983), Pakistan (1992) and Sri Lanka (1996) on one occasion.

The tournament has helped create some of the most memorable moments in the history of the sport, including one of the most dramatic games of all time, when Australia and South Africa tied the ICC Cricket World Cup 1999 semi-final, and one of the greatest shocks, when India defeated West Indies in the final of the 1983 event.

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 is set to be one of the most exciting events in the history of the event, with the new quarter-final format set to create a fascinating finish to the tournament.

14 teams will take part in the tournament with games set to be broadcast to a global audience in over 180 territories and followed by millions on the internet, mobile and other media.


Year Date Venue Finals Result
1975 Jun 07-Jun 21 England WI vs AUS WI won by 17 runs
1979 Jun 09-Jun 23 England ENG vs WI WI won by 92 runs
1983 Jun 09-Jun 25 England IND vs WI IND won by 43 runs
1987 Oct 08-Nov 08 India,Pakistan AUS vs ENG AUS won by 7 runs
1992 Feb 22-Mar 25 Australia,New Zealand PAK vs ENG PAK won by 22 runs
1996 Feb 14-Mar 17 India,Pakistan,Sri Lanka AUS vs SL SL won by 7 wickets
1999 May 14-Jun 20 England,Ireland,Netherlands,Scotland AUS vs PAK AUS won by 8 wickets
2003 Feb 09-Mar 23 Kenya,South Africa,Zimbabwe AUS vs IND AUS won by 125 runs
2007 Mar 13-Apr 28 West Indies SL vs AUS AUS won by 53 runs