Woods handed two-shot penalty for `moving ball` in BMW Championship

Johannesburg, Sept 15 (ANI): World No.1 Tiger Woods was reportedly slapped with a two-stroke penalty after the second round of the BMW Championship for trying to move a tiny stick that also slightly shifted his golf ball in his first hole.

Woods managed a one-over 72 in the second round of the tournament to end in a share of 13th at four-under 138, although his double bogey was changed to a quadruple bogey after rules officials hit him with the two-shot penalty.

According to Sport24, the officials said that they were alerted to the infraction by a PGA Tour videographer.

The report mentioned that the penalty left Woods in a group that was seven shots off the lead heading into Saturday's third round, adding that the violation occurred after Woods, who claimed that he thought the ball had only oscillated in place, hit his second shot over the green and onto some dirt and branches under a few trees.

Meanwhile, Jim Furyk became just the sixth player in US PGA Tour history to fire a 12-under 59, his sizzling round lifting him into a share of the halfway lead with Brandt Snedeker, the report added. (ANI)

--

Did you know that you can get stories like this on the Yahoo mail app?
Download it here.

Matches