Women's Ashes to be held in January

Melbourne, Aug 27 (IANS) The Ashes rivalry will continue into the New Year with the women's Ashes cricket series in Australia, it was announced Tuesday.

Australia and England will compete across all three formats in the Ashes which begins Jan 10 in Perth.

The fixture features one Test in Perth, three One-Day Internationals (ODI) -- two in Melbourne and one in Hobart -- and three T20 Internationals. The winner of each match accrues points based on a weighting-system to determine which team will claim the women's Ashes trophy at the end of the Series.

Cricket Australia (CA) chief executive James Sutherland said: "This will be the first time the women's Ashes series will be played in Australia according to the new points format, so each match will be vital in determining who will claim the trophy."


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.