Swann, Bresnan makes comeback from injuries to England Champions Trophy squad

Sydney, May 4 (ANI): England bowlers Graeme Swann and Tim Bresnan are back in the side after recovering from elbow injuries, and are a part of the 15-man squad for the upcoming ICC Champions Trophy, which was named by the selectors on Friday.

Swann and Bresnan, who have only just returned to action with their English county sides after missing the recent tour of New Zealand, are likely to be key members of England's team as they seek a first 50-over ICC trophy, News.com.au reports.

The report further said that the selectors have decided against resting the bowlers ahead of the back-to-back Ashes series against Australia.

Stating that both the Ashes and the Champions Trophy have equal priorities for the team, chief selector Geoff Miller said that he is happy to have recalled both Bresnan and Swann to the squad, adding that he is confident that the duo, who have got a pass from the medical staff, can help them have success in the eight-nation tournament.

According to Miller, the duo will be constantly monitored to examine their adaptation and their coping with their injuries, although he added that the bowlers have shown that they are now past those injuries and ready to perform.

Defending the selection of Bopara for the squad, Miller said that the all-rounder have been given a chance as the selectors are aware that Bopara can play to his assets and perform well on the field if he chooses to use his full potential.

According to the report, with Kevin Pietersen out with a knee injury, Bopara was recalled to a 15-man squad as one of seven batsmen and among the six survivors - along with Bresnan and Swann - from the last Champions Trophy in 2009.

England will use the same squad for the three-match one-day series against New Zealand that precedes the Champions Trophy, which England hosts from June 6, the report added.

England squad: Alastair Cook (captain), James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Ian Bell, Bopara, Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler, Steven Finn, Eoin Morgan, Joe Root, Swann, James Tredwell, Jonathan Trott and Chris Woakes. (ANI)


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.