Subroto Cup: Meghalaya and Manipur schools enter final

New Delhi, Oct 12 (IANS) OM Roy High School, Shillong, Meghalaya entered the U-17 Boys' final while RMSM Vidhyalaya, Nambol, Manipur secured a spot in the girls' title clash in the 54th Subroto Cup football at the Ambedkar Stadium here on Saturday.

While boys from Meghalaya shot down Army Boys, Danapur, Bihar 3-0; RMSM Vidhyalaya, Nambol, Manipur girls romped home to a 5-1 victory over Reverend Saiaithanga Memorial School, Aizawl, Mizoram.

Although Meghalaya boys teams have won the U-17 title in earlier editions, this is the first time that this particular school team will appear in the title clash. The clash between Army Boys and Meghalaya was an exciting, fast paced one. Both teams were equally matched although the taller, stronger Army Boys enjoyed considerable physical advantage over the smaller but quicker Meghalaya players.

However, Meghalaya's superior fitness saw them through as they pumped in three goals in the second session.

In the girls' section, RMSM Vidhyalaya booked a spot in the final with an easy 5-1 win over Reverend Saiaithanga Memorial School. The girls from Manipur did not face too much trouble from their rivals and a hat-trick from D Grace in the first half and another couple of goals by Ratanbala Devi after the break were enough to see them through.

Saturday's results:

(U-17 Boys' unless mentioned otherwise)

Magurmari High School, Kokrajhar, Assam 11 (Langaram Basumatry 44th; Thanil Singh 22nd, 67th; Udiraj Margary 62nd; Innubla Brahma 7th, 41st, 56th; Kapil Ray 35th, 52nd, 57th, 60th) defeated Coast Guard Public School, Daman 0

Nayagram Thana Balika Vidhalaya, Paschim Medinipur, West Bengal 5 (Tulsi Hembram 32nd, 42nd, 59th; Mughi Hembram 19th; Sambari Hembram 8th) defeated Fountainhead School, Surat, Gujarat 0 (Girls)

RMSM Vidhyalaya, Nambol, Manipur 5 (D Grace 3rd, 11th, 23rd; Ratanbala Devi 36th, 39th) defeated Rev Saiaithanga Memorial School, Aizawl, Mizoram 1 (Lalhriattiri 30+1) (Girls' semifinal)

OM Roy High School, Meghalaya 3 (Mebanshani Suting 48th, 52nd; Jimmyson 70+2) defeated Army Boys, Danapur, Bihar 0 (U-17 boys' Semifinal)

NCC (NER) 7 (Tejibala 9th, 16th; Margret 30th; A Raja 17th, 40th, 49th, 59th) defeated AP Sports School, Andhra Pradesh 0 (Girls)

The Air Force School, New Delhi 1 (Ishaq Lalrinchima 69th) drew Don Bosco School, Mumbai, Maharashtra 1 (Soiram Jhadhav 49th)

Troeschina, Kiev, Ukraine 2 (Matichensko 41st; Rojoka 58th) defeated Police High School, Badipada, Orissa 0

Tyssad School, Meghalaya 2 (Megh 2nd; P Shulet 25th; I Mawlong 52nd) defeated Afghanistan 0 (Girls)

New Sunrise School, Fatehabad, Haryana 4 (Anil 3rd, 54th; Abhilash 23rd; Aman 72nd) defeated PP Savani Chaitanya Vidhyalaya, Sankul,Gujarat 0


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.