Strong Indian presence in ICC Cricket Committee

Laxman Sivaramakrishnan The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday confirmed that for the first time its cricket committee will have a strong Indian flavour.

Apart from legendary leg-spinner Anil Kumble, who has succeeded Clive Lloyd as the committee chairman, Laxman Sivaramakrishnan is the other Indian on the panel.

The first meeting of the committee takes place in London on May 28 and 29.

The committee’s brief is to discuss cricket- playing matters and make recommendations to the ICC Chief Executives’ Committee and the ICC Executive Board that will meet at Lord’s during the ICC’s annual conference week, from June 25- 29.

Sivaramakrishnan, a former leg-spinner, has been elected to the committee as a players’ representative, replacing Australia’s Tim May.

According to reports, the BCCI canvassed hard for Sivaramakrishnan, and helped him beat May by 6- 4 votes. The players’ representative is elected by captains of the 10 Test playing nations. ESPNCricinfo reported that Australia, England, South Africa and New Zealand — countries where FICA is a force — were the four votes that May received.

Joining Siva on the panel is Kumar Sangakkara, who has been the current players’ representative since 2007, and will continue in that role after being re- elected by the 10 captains.

Sangakkara and Siva will serve for three years, from 2013-15.

Past players are represented by Australia’s Mark Taylor, who is joined by former England captain Andrew Strauss. The latter replaces West Indian Ian Bishop. Gary Kirsten, the South African coach, is the full member team coach representative while former England captain Clare Connor is the women’s representative.


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.