Seven councillors join BJP in Delhi

New Delhi, July 31 (IANS) Seven Delhi councillors Wednesday joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) avowedly to overthrow the incumbent Congress government in the capital, a senior BJP leader said.

"Seven MCD (Municipal Corporation of Delhi) councillors have joined BJP to end the past 15 years of misrule by the Congress party," Delhi BJP chief Vijay Goel told reporters here.

The national capital is set to go to polls in November this year.

Councillors Suresh Garg, Pradeep Kumar, Krishna Kumar Sehrawat and Pramod Tanwar had left the BJP and contested as Independents in the last civic polls in 2012.

Rahul Pradbhudayal and Chander Prakash are from Bahujan Samaj Party and Janata Dal (United), respectively, while Naresh Balyan contested the 2012 polls independently and was earlier with the Congress.


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.