Sanju's 'good start'

Calcutta: Kingfisher East Bengal returned to winning ways in the I-League as they thrashed Pailan Arrows 3-0, at the Kalyani Stadium, on Sunday.

The highlight of the match was East Bengal captain Sanju Pradhan's performance. Apart from being the architect in many of East Bengal's attacks, he also scored two brilliant goals from long range. For the record, this was Sanju's first start in I-League this season.

The other goal was scored by Robin Singh. The win took East Bengal to 24 points from 12 matches while Arrows remained on 14 points after playing the same number of matches.

East Bengal coach Trevor James Morgan made quite a few changes in his squad that lost the match against Mumbai FC.

The changes worked: goalkeeper Abhijit Mondal came out with a clean sheet, left back Robert Lalthlamuana and right back Harmanjyot Singh Khabra didn't allow space to Arrows' players on the wing and Lalrindika Ralte maintained pressure through his incessant penetration on the left wing.

East Bengal took the lead two minutes from half-time when Robin Singh made a clean finish, after taking control of a loose ball inside the box.

Ten minutes into the second half, Sanju scored a gem of a goal. After receiving a pass from Penn Orji, Sanju tried to fox an Arrows defender with his dribbling skills while attempting to get into the box. However, he caught everyone by surprise when he suddenly shot a right-footer from 22 yards.

The diagonal shot was struck with so much power that the goalkeeper had no chance of averting the danger.

Arrows created a chance � their best in the match � in the 69th minute but Alwyn George could not keep the ball on target despite getting an open net.

Sanju completed his brace in the 85th minute when his right-footer from 26 yards ended up at the back of the net.


Kingfisher East Bengal: Abhijit Mondal, Harmanjot Singh Khabra, Arnab Mondal, Raju Gaikwad, Robert Lalthlamuana, Sanju Pradhan, Mehtab Hussain, Penn Orji (Cavin Lobo 87th minute), Lalrindika Ralte (Alvito D'Cunha 92nd), Edeh Chidi, Robin Singh (Manandeep Singh 81st)

Pailan Arrows: Shyan Roy, Prabir Das, Shouvik Ghosh, Deepak Devrani (Prathamesh Maulingkar 2nd), Pritam Kotal, Pranoy Halder, Milan Singh, Narayan Das, Alwyn George (Shaiju Mon 74th), Rajinder Kumar, Holicharan Narzary (Tirthankar Sarkar 64th)

Referee: Rahul D'Sa

MoM: Sanju Pradhan


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.