Saeed Ajmal wins four awards

Calcutta: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) organised its first-ever Annual Awards, in Lahore, on Saturday.

Mohammed Hafeez won the coveted Player of the Year award. Hafeez, who captains Pakistan in the T20 format, has had a pretty successful year.

Under Hafeez's leadership, Pakistan made the semi-finals of the 2012 World T20, which was held in Sri Lanka. The all-rounder also led the side from the front as Pakistan drew the T20 series 1-1 against India.

He was also a key member of the ODI side which beat India 2-1 under the leadership of Misbah-ul Haq.

Off-spinner Saeed Ajmal was a multiple-category winner bagging the Test Bowler of the Year, ODI Bowler of the Year, T20 Bowler of the Year (International) and Special prize for Best Bowler of the Year awards.

Youngster Azhar Ali was adjudged the recipient of the Test Batsman of the Year.

Opener Nasir Jamshed won the ODI Batsman of the Year and the T20 Batsman of the Year awards. Jamshed recently had a triumphant tour of India scoring back to back hundreds in the one-day series.

Left-arm seamer Junaid Khan, who gave the Indian batsmen a torrid time with his sharp swing, won the Emerging Player of the Year award.

Former captains Hanif Mohammed and Imtiaz Ahmed received the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Ahsan Raza was chosen the Umpire of the Year. Raza is the same person, who, in 2009, was critically wounded in a terrorist attack aimed at the Sri Lanka team bus.


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.