Row over new members disrupts Rajya Sabha

New Delhi, Aug 29 (IANS) The Rajya Sabha was disrupted by noisy protests by members over the adoption of a motion to appoint two members to the Joint Parliamentary Committee (JPC) on 2G spectrum.

Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs Rajeev Shukla moved the motion regarding the appointment to examine matters related to the allocation and pricing of telecom licences and spectrum.

Opposition leader Arun Jaitley opposed the move, saying the government cannot decide who the nominees will be.

"The precedent they are setting is a very dangerous one," he said. He got the support of other political parties.

The Communist Party of India-Marxist's Sitaram Yechury said the vacant positions should be filled by members of the same party who have left the JPC.

As the commotion continued, Shukla said the members should vote on the matter but the opposition rejected this idea.

Amid commotion, Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairperson P.J. Kurien allowed Shukla to move the motion and passed it.

This led to chaos. Many members came to the deputy chairperson's podium, and the house was adjourned till 2 p.m.

The vacancies were caused by the retirement of DMK's Tiruchi Siva from the Rajya Sabha and the resignation of Congress member E.M. Sudarsana Natchiappan from the JPC.

The government named P. Bhattacharya and Ashok S. Ganguly to be appointed to the committee.


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.