Ranji Trophy Round-up- Day 2: Jadhav strikes double ton

Abhishek Nayar scored 107* for Mumbai against Railways (File Picture)

Group A

Mumbai Vs Railways

Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Day 1 Score: Mumbai 344/4

Overnight batsman Ajinkya Rahane managed to add 24 more runs to his score, before being trapped leg-before-wicket by Krishnakant Upadhyay. Abhishek Nayar (107*) went on to score an unbeaten ton, staying till the end before Mumbai were bowled out for 570. Anureet Singh (3/81) and Shivakant Shukla (3/53) took three wickets each.

In reply, Railways were 86/2 at stumps, after rival skipper Ajit Agarkar sent back their openers- Amit Paunikar and Shivakant Shukla. Sanjay Bangar (36*) and Nitin Bhille (21*) walked back with their wickets intact.
Gujarat Vs Madhya Pradesh

Venue: Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore

Day 1 Score: Gujarat 327/5

Anand Rajan took 7/77 as Gujarat were shot out for 355, adding just 28 runs to their overnight score.  Madhya Pradesh managed 124/3 in response, with Naman Ojha (49*) and Udit Birla (42*) staying on till stumps.
Hyderabad Vs Punjab

Venue: PCA Stadium, Mohali   

Day 1 Score: Hyderabad 244/7

Hyderabad managed to add just 14 runs to their overnight score of 244/7, losing all ten wickets to register a first innings of 258, with Manpreet Gony (4/60) and Sandeep Sharma (3/45) wiping out the tail. Punjab’s openers Jiwanjot Singh (116*) and Karan Goel (106*) smashed centuries to help their side rake up 243/0 at stumps.
Bengal Vs Rajasthan

Venue: Eden Gardens, Kolkata

Day 1 Score:  Bengal 187/4

Wriddhiman Saha’s (59) half-century took Bengal to 258 all out, with Pankaj Singh (5/50) and Rituraj Singh (3/116) taking credit for the destruction with the ball. The defending champions were however struggling with the bat at 63/4, with Ashok Menaria (13*) and Rashmi Parida (2*) at the crease at stumps.
Group B

Delhi Vs Uttar Pradesh

Venue: Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Ghaziabad

Day 1 Score: Delhi- 235 all out, UP-40/1

Opener Mukul Dagar put together a fine 116, while India discard Mohammad Kaif (91) missed out on a ton, as UP took a 57-run lead to finish day two on 292/6. Skipper Suresh Raina (19*) and Amir Khan (4*) were at the crease, when the umpires announced the end of day’s play. Sumit Narwal emerged as Delhi’s best bowler with a haul of 3/48.
Haryana Vs Vidarbha

Venue: Bansi Lal Cricket Stadium, Rohtak

Day 1 Score: Haryana- 55 all out, Vidarbha- 78/2

Late order hitting from Shrikant Wagh (44), ensured that Vidharbha posted 205 all out in what was another mediocre batting display. Mohit Sharma (3/45) and Chanderpal Saini (3/47) were the bowlers who did the damage for Haryana.

At stumps, the hosts were at  103/3, trailing by 47 runs, with Abhimanyu Khod (9*) and Priyank Tehlan (5*) at the crease.
Tamil Nadu Vs Odisha

Venue: Barabati Stadium, Cuttack

Day 1 Score: Tamil Nadu- 66/2

No action possible because of rain. Play called off for the day.
Baroda Vs Karnataka

Venue: Moti Bagh Stadium, Vadodra

Day 1 Score: Baroda- 308/4

Stuart Binny took 5/65, dismissing centurions Irfan Pathan (121) and Aditya Waghmode (129), as Baroda folded for 406. In reply Karnataka were 78/0, trailing by 328 runs, with KB Pawan (40*) and Robin Uthappa (29*) at the crease.
Group C

Assam Vs Tripura

Venue:  Nehru Stadium, Guwahati

Day 1 Score: Assam- 220/5

Dheeraj Jadhav (243) struck the first double century of the season, to power Assam’s first innings total of 450 all out. J Syed Mohammad played second fiddle with a tidy knock of 89. In reply Tripura were at 72/3 at stumps, trailing by 378 runs, with Subhrajit Roy (27*) and Abbas Ali (9*) at the crease.
Jammu & Kashmir Vs Jharkhand

Venue: Gandhi Memorial Science College Ground, Jammu

Day 1 Score: Jammu & Kashmir- 195, Jharkhand- 81/1

Resuming from their overnight score of 81/1, Jharkhand finished with 354-8. Shiv Gautam (80), Saurabh Tiwary (72) and Rameez Nemat (75) were amongst the runs for Jharkhand. Their lead is now worth 159 runs.
Kerala Vs Himachal Pradesh

Venue: Amtar Ground, Nadaun

Day 1 Score: Kerala- 196/8

After bowling out Kerala for 229, Paras Dogra (121) led Himachal Pradesh’s charge, as they finished with a total of 250/4 at stumps, with Amit Kumar (18) and Aatish Bhalaik (0) at the crease.
Services Vs Andhra Pradesh

Venue: Rural Development Trust Stadium, Anantapur

Day 1 Score: Services- 73/5

Rajat Paliwal (72) rescued the Services from a dodgy postion, as he helped them recover to post 256/8 at stumps. Muzzaffaruddin Khalid (41*) and Shadab Nazar (30*) remained unbeaten at the end of day’s play.