President's rule imposed in Jharkhand

New Delhi, Jan 19 (ANI): President Pranab Mukherjee has signed the proclamation on Central rule in Jharkhand.

The President's rule followed resignation by Jharkhand Chief Minister Arjun Munda.

Former Union Home Secretary Madhukar Gupta and former CRPF Director General K Vijay Kumar have been appointed advisers to Governor Syed Ahmed.

The Union Cabinet on Thursday recommended imposition of President's Rule in Jharkhand, which is facing political instability after the collapse of the Arjun Munda-led BJP-JMM coalition government last week.

The recommendation in this regard comes on the basis of a report on political situation in Jharkhand prepared by Governor Syed Ahmed and sent to the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA).

The recommendation was made in the Governor's second report to the Central Government in wake of the resignation of Chief Minister Arjun Munda, who also sought dissolution of the Assembly after JMM withdrew support to his government.

Jharkhand, which was created in 2000, has been placed under President's Rule twice.

The present political instability erupted on January 8 when BJP's ruling coalition partner JMM, in a letter to the Governor, formally withdrew its support to the government pushing it into a minority.

Relations between the BJP and JMM came under strain since the chief minister rejected that there was an agreement between the two parties on rotation of power after 28 months in office.

Jharkhand has seen eight governments in the last 12 years. (ANI)


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.