PM sets up Cabinet Committee for Reconstruction, Rehabilitation in Uttarakhand

New Delhi, July 11 (ANI): The Prime Minister, Dr. Manmohan Singh, has constituted a Cabinet Committee to oversee reconstruction and rehabilitation work in flood-ravaged Uttarakhand.

The committee will provide broad guidance to reconstruction and rehabilitation efforts in the state and take such decisions, as may be required.

Union Ministers A.K. Antony, Sharad Pawar, P. Chidambaram, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Sushil Kumar Shinde, Oscar Fernandes, Kapil Sibal, Girija Vyas, Jairam Ramesh and Harish Rawat are the members of the committee.

The Committee will be chaired by the Prime Minister.

Planning Commission Deputy Chairman Montek Singh Ahluwalia, Uttarakhand Chief Minister Vijay Bahuguna and National Disaster Management Authority Vice Chairman M Shashidhar Reddy will be the permanent invitees.

Dr. Singh has already announced 1,000 crore rupees for disaster relief measures in flood-devastated parts of Uttarakhand. (ANI)


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.