Passi's six-wicket haul hands India U-19s first win Down Under

Campaign back on track with 63-run defeat of Zimbabwe.

Passi's six for 23 scuppered Malcolm Lake's 107-ball 118. TOWNSVILLE: Medium pacer Kamal Passi’s sensational six-wicket haul brought India U-19s their first win of the World Cup as they defeated Zimbabwe by 63 runs at the Tony Ireland Stadium here, on Tuesday.

India needed to win the match to stay in the competition, and they did that convincingly – posting 261 after being sent in to bat and flooring Zimbabwe with a series of Passi-engineered strikes, which relegated to the sidelines Malcolm Lake’s valiant hundred.

For the game, India replaced the unwell left-arm spinner Harmeet Singh with Passi, and medium-pacer Rush Kalaria with Ravikant Singh.

They began in right earnest through a century opening stand between skipper Unmukt Chand (78, 85b, 9x4, 3x6) and  Prashant Chopra (57, 82b, 7x4).

The duo thwarted the Zimbabwean seam attack in an exhibition of percentage batting, compiling 139 in under 27 overs, before Chopra was caught and bowled by Lake – who later played the lone hand in his team’s unsuccessful pursuit.

Following the exit of the openers, India suffered from a middle order stasis, but  a 53-run partnership between Baba Aparajith (24) and Hanuma Vihari (31) – and a last-over blitz by Passi (24, 5b, 1x4, 3x6) – took the side to a competitive 261.

Passi wasn’t finished yet. The Punjab lad shared the new ball with Sandeep Sharma and claimed four of the first five wickets to fall in a vicious six-over spell.

He lured opener Kevin Kasuza with a shortish delivery outside the off-stump, penetrated Luke Masasire’s defences with a fuller offering, and bounced out Matthew Bentley and Ryan Burl, leaving Zimbabwe at 30 for four in the 12th over.

Passi’s first spell read 7-1-15-4.

Zimbabwe looked down for the count, but the left-handed Lake had other ideas.  He held up one end and added 87 for the fifth wicket with Luke Jongwe (29). Once Jongwe was run out in the 32nd over, Lake changed gears, smashing a series of boundaries to arrest the burgeoning required rate.

But nobody was willing to lend Lake a hand. Campbell Light was trapped in front by Unmukt; Sandeep got another breakthrough when he dismissed Nyasha Mayavo, depriving Lake of yet another partner.

Passi returned for his second spell and immediately trapped Bowie leg before for a first-ball duck. Lake was finally the last man out when he became Passi’s sixth victim – lofting stylishly only to be held at cover. 

Man of the Match Passi finished with six for 23, his bowling effort overshadowing Lake’s107-ball 118.


India U-19

P Chopra    c & b Lake    57               
U Chand    c Musoko b Zimwa    78               
B Aparajith    c Burl b Light    24               
GH Vihari    c †Mayavo b Light    31               
AD Nath    c †Mayavo b Light    8               
VH Zol    c Masasire b Musoko    16               
SK Patel†    not out    7               
K Passi    not out    24               

Extras    (lb 3, w 13)    16               

Total    (6 wickets; 50 overs)    261               

Did not bat Ravikant Singh, Vikas Mishra, Sandeep Sharma                       

FoW: 1-139 (Chopra, 26.3 ov), 2-148 (Chand, 29.1 ov), 3-201 (Aparajith, 41.4 ov), 4-207 (Vihari, 43.3 ov), 5-216 (Nath, 45.5 ov), 6-237 (Zol, 49.1 ov)
KD Bowie    10-1-41-0
C Musoko    9-0-6-1
LM Jongwe    10-0-63-0   
P Zimwa    10-0-46-1
MB Lake    7-0-19-1
CR Light    4-0-22-3

Zimbabwe Under-19

KT Kasuza    c †Patel b Passi    4               
L Masasire     b Passi    6               
MSM Bentley*    c †Patel b Passi    8               
RP Burl    c Vihari b Passi    9               
MB Lake    c Sandeep Sharma b Passi    118               
LM Jongwe    run out    29               
CR Light    lbw b Chand    1               
NP Mayavo†     b Sandeep Sharma    8               
P Zimwa    c †Patel b Ravikant Singh    3               
KD Bowie    lbw b Passi    0               
C Musoko    not out    2               

Extras    (lb 1, w 7, nb 2)    10               
Total    (all out; 44.1 overs)    198   
FoW: 1-5 (Kasuza, 3.6 ov), 2-10 (Masasire, 5.1 ov), 3-28 (Bentley, 9.6 ov), 4-30 (Burl, 11.4 ov), 5-117 (Jongwe, 31.6 ov), 6-121 (Light, 33.1 ov), 7-168 (Mayavo, 37.4 ov), 8-190 (Zimwa, 41.6 ov), 9-191 (Bowie, 42.2 ov), 10-198 (Lake, 44.1 ov)                       


Sandeep Sharma    9-1-40-1
K Passi    8.1-1-23-6
Ravikant Singh    7-1-25-1
Vikas Mishra    7-0-40-0
B Aparajith    9-0-47-0
U Chand    4-0-22-1