Parliament disrupted over demand for united Andhra

New Delhi, Aug 23 (IANS) Both house of parliament were adjourned for the day Friday over protests against creation of Telangana.

While the Rajya Sabha was adjourned till Aug 26, the Lok Sabha was adjourned till Saturday.

When Union Coal Minister Sriprakash Jaiswal started to make a statement on the missing coal files in the Rajya Sabha, members of Telugu Desam Party (TDP) started raising slogans.

Rajya Sabha Chairperson P.J. Kurein requested the two TDP members to allow the discussion on coal files to continue as Prime Minister Manmohan Singh was in the house.

"Prime Minister is in the house and he will intervene," he said.

However, TDP members continued to raise slogans following which the house was adjourned for half-an-hour.

When it reassembled, the same members continued to disrupt the house.

"I am deeply pained and hurt. As deputy chairman, I genuinely and sincerely want to run the house," said Kurien.

"If the house gives me support then I am ready to take action against the two honourable members, else I will adjourn the house," he said.

As the commotion continued, Kurien said: "We are taking house to ransom. The house stands adjourned to meet on Aug 26."

Similar scenes were witnessed in the Lok Sabha, which was adjourned till Saturday after suspension of 12 Members of Parliament from Andhra Pradesh for causing unending disruption.

The house witnessed repeated disruptions by the members from Andhra Pradesh.

It was adjourned twice over the disruptions.

When the house met again at 12.30 p.m., the speaker asked Parliamentary Affairs Minister Kamal Nath if he wanted to proceed with the motion for suspension of 10 members from Andhra Pradesh which he had moved Thursday.

Kamal Nath replied that he didn't want to press the motion.

The speaker then named the 12 -- four from the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and eight from the Congress -- under rule 374 (A) of parliamentary proceedings, which automatically suspends them for the next five sittings.

Under the rule, any member named by the speaker shall "stand automatically suspended from the service of the house for five consecutive sittings or the remainder of the session whichever is less".

The speaker took the names of the 12 MPs and said: "I name you under rule 374(A). You may forthwith withdraw from the precincts of the house."

After this the house was adjourned for the day.


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.