ONGC clinch team title

PSPB tennis

Guwahati, Dec. 24: Former junior Australian Open champion Yuki Bhambri and Davis Cupper Vishnu Vardhan today fashioned the men's team event title victory for their employers Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC) Ltd in the 32nd Petroleum Sports Promotion Board Inter-Unit Tennis Tournament, hosted by Numaligarh Refinery Ltd, at the All Assam Tennis Association complex here.

ONGC defeated Indian Oil Corporation (IOC) 2-0 in the finals today. While Bhambri got the better of IOC's Davis Cupper Rohan Bopanna in straight sets 6-3, 6-4, Vardhan defeated Arjun Kadhe 6-4, 6-1.

Oil India Ltd (OIL) A finished third beating hosts NRL A 2-0 in the playoff. Chandra Sekhar Mohanty of OIL eased past Pratul K. Saikia of NRL 6-1, 6-1 and Anshuman Dutta defeated Bitopan Sonowal 6-2, 6-2. IOC won the veterans' final, beating Bharat Petroleum Corporation Ltd A 2-1 in the finals played today.

After Tejbir Singh Bhandari of IOC beat Bhushan Akut of BPCL 6-1, 6-2, S. Chandrasekhar of BPCL equalised, defeating S. Venkatesh of IOC 6-4, 6-0. In the deciding doubles match, Tejbir Singh Bhandari and Vivek Satyajit of IOC got the better of Bhushan and K. Ravi of BPCL 6-2, 6-1.

OIL emerged third defeating ONGC 2-0 in the playoff. Hakim Ali defeated H.M. Bhangari 6-1, 6-3 and Atanu Bhagawati came back from a set behind to overcome D.J. Borpujari 4-6, 6-3, 7-6(4) in the two singles matches.

All the leading international players booked quarter-finals berths in the men's singles today.

In the pre-quarterfinals played today, Bhambri (ONGC) made short work of D. Deori (NRL) 6-1, 6-0, Kadhe (IOC) beat Pratul Saikia (NRL) 6-3, 6-3, Bopanna (IOC) defeated C.S. Mohanty (OIL) 7-5, 6-4, Vinod Shridhar (ONGC) overcame P.K. Jain (GAIL) 6-1, 6-3, Sunil Sipaeya (IOC) defeated Rupesh Kumar (GAIL) 6-0, 6-0, V.M. Ranjeet (ONGC) prevailed over B. Sonowal (NRL) 6-3, 6-4, Divij Sharan (IOC) tamed Pradeep Pancholi (GAIL) 6-1, 6-0 and Vardhan (ONGC) defeated Anshuman Dutta (OIL) 6-4, 6-4.

In men's doubles, IOC duo of Sharan and Sipaeya, the ONGC tandem of Bhambri and Vardhan and OIL pair of C.S. Mohanty and Anshuman Dutta booked semi-finals berths today.

In veterans' men's singles, T.S. Bhandari (IOC), Hakim Ali (OIL) and D.J. Borpujari (ONGC) made it to the semi-finals today.

Bhandari made short work of D. Abbas (IOC) 6-0, 6-1, Ali got the better of H.M. Bhangari (ONGC) 6-4, 6-4 and Borpujari overcame S. Venkatesh (IOC) 6-4, 7-5 in the quarter-finals played today.


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.