Nitish Kumar wins trust vote in Bihar assembly

Patna, June 19 (ANI): Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar won the trust vote in the state assembly today.

The Janata Dal (United) secured 126 votes in its favour after the Congress, LJP, CPI and some independents voted in favour of the confidence motion moved by the Bihar Chief Minister.

The BJP MLAs earlier walked out of the Bihar Assembly, and accused Nitish Kumar of betraying the mandate of NDA.

"We know you have mustered majority in the House to ensure passage of trust vote...therefore we are walking out," BJP legislature party leader Nandkishore Yadav announced in the House.

The 91-member BJP legislature party will be sitting in the opposition bench for the first time since November 2005 when the alliance came to power after defeating the RJD-led government in Bihar.

The Bihar Chief Minister had earlier on Sunday met Governor D.Y. Patil after sacking 11 BJP ministers from his Cabinet. He had requested the Governor to call a special session of the assembly to seek trust vote on the floor of the House.

In the 243-member Bihar assembly, the JD (U) has 118 members, including the speaker. The BJP has 91, RJD has 22, Congress has four, LJP and CPI have one each and there are six independent members. (ANI)


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.