Nawaz Sharif elected as Pakistan prime minister

Islamabad, June 5 (ANI): Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) chief Nawaz Sharif has become the first politician in Pakistan's parliamentary history to make it to the office of prime minister for a third time.

Sharif received a total of 244 votes, whereas contenders Makhdoom Javed Hashmi and Makdhoom Amin Fahim received a total of received 31 votes and 42 votes respectively, reports The Express Tribune.

Sharif briefly addressed the parliament after his victory was announced. He began by thanking God for allowing him yet another chance to serve Pakistan and its people.

The people have decided and proven that they believe in democracy, Nawaz added.

After formally chosen by a vote in the National Assembly, Sharif is set to take the oath from President Asif Ali Zardari at 5 pm local time. (ANI)


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.