Karachi, June 8 (ANI): Pakistan Test and ODI captain Misbah-ul Haq has slammed West Indies wicket-keeper Denesh Ramdin for wrongly claiming a catch during Friday's gripping Champions Trophy clash at The Oval, which Pakistan lost by two wickets.
Misbah scored a career-best 96 not out in the game in south London but thought he was out for nought when Ramdin claimed a catch off man-of-the-match Kemar Roach, The Dawn reports.
According to the report, replays showed that while Ramdin had initially caught the ball, he had subsequently allowed it to spill out of his grasp, after which it was decided that Ramdin did not have full control over the ball and Misbah was reprieved.
Stating that Ramdin should have told the umpire about what happened, an angry Misbah said that he would also have been unhappy if his wicketkeeper did the same thing that Ramdin did.
According to Misbah, a player should not claim a catch if he is aware that the ball is not a catch as such behaviour belies the spirit of the game.
However, West Indies captain Dwayne Bravo defended Ramdin against accusations of bad sportsmanship, insisting that the keeper genuinely believed that he had held on for long enough to claim a fair catch.
Stating that Ramdin had genuinely thought that he had caught the ball, Bravo further said that their keeper is an honest player, adding that history has shown that West Indies does not have any stigma of negativity around them as they have always played the game in the right way.
Although defeat against the Caribbean left Pakistan probably needing to win their final pool games against India and South Africa if they were to advance from Group B to the semi-finals, but Misbah insisted all was far from lost, adding that his team just needs to be a bit more responsible with their batting.
According to Misbah, if the team had got 230 or 240 runs, it would have made a good total for them, although he said that there is nothing to be worried about at this point of time, adding that they just need to score those extra runs. (ANI)