Ministers' group formed on Telangana creation

New Delhi, Oct 8 (IANS) The central government Tuesday constituted a seven-member group of ministers (GoM) to look into the issues related to carving a Telangana state out of Andhra Pradesh, official sources said.

According to the sources, the terms of reference of the GoM would be the distribution of resources like financial assets, water and electricity, and government staff.

It would also look at the reorganisation of assembly and Lok Sabha constituencies of the state and make recommendations on the boundaries of Telangana, said the sources.

The seven members of the GoM are Defence Minister A.K. Antony, Finance Minister P. Chidambaram, Home Minister Sushilkumar Shinde, Health Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad, Petroleum Minister M. Veerappa Moily and Rural Development Minister Jairam Ramesh.

Minister of State in the Prime Minister's Office V. Narayanasamy will be a special invitee to the GoM.


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.