Meira Kumar suspends 12 members from LS for obstructing proceedings

New Delhi, Aug. 23 (ANI): Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar on Friday suspended 12 members of the Lower House for obstructing the proceedings on the Telangana statehood issue.

She named the members under Rule 374 (A) of the House proceedings which empowers the Speaker to automatically suspend a member for five consecutive sittings or the remainder of the session, whichever is less.

The Lok Sabha Speaker, who read out the names of the members- eight from the ruling Congress Party and four from Telegu Desam Party (TDP)-asked them to leave immediately. She later adjourned the Lok Sabha for the day.

Parliamentary Affairs Minister Kamal Nath, who moved a motion in this regard yesterday, today said it is for the Lok Sabha Speaker to take a final call on the issue.

"There are rules in this regard. Under 374 (A) of the rules, once they are named by the Speaker they are required to leave the House," he told media outside the Parliament. (ANI)


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.