Mathews to take over as Sri Lankan captain

Angelo Mathews has replaced Mahela Jayawardene as the Test and ODI captain for the two-match Test series against Bangladesh.  The first Test begins in Galle on March 8.

The 20-man squad for the series includes Ajantha Mendis, while Thilan Samaraweera, Tharanga Paranavitana and wicket-keeper Prasanna Jayawardene have been dropped.
Dinesh Chandimal who will also keep wickets for the team, has been named the vice-captain, but will lead the team in the one-off T20 on March 31.

Lasith Malinga will be Sri Lanka’s T20 vice-captain. Kumar Sangakkara’s participation in the series depends on how soon he recovers from a hand fracture, which he sustained during the tour of Australia.

Bangladesh will play two Tests, three ODIs and a T20 against Sri Lanka.

More to come..

Squad: Angelo Mathews (captain), Dinesh Chandimal (vice-captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardene, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dimuth Karunaratne, Ajantha Mendis, Ashen Silva, Kumar Sangakkara, Kushal Janith Perera, Jeevan Mendis, Kithuruwan Vithanage, , Suraj Randiv, Nuwan Kulasekara, Shaminda Eranga, Chanaka Welegedera, Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Chameera, Rangana Herath, Tharindu Kaushal.