Manipur triumph in pre-quarters

national softball

Imphal, Nov. 22: Manipur, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Kerala, Delhi and Madhya Pradesh won the pre-quarter final league rounds today in the girls' section of the 30th junior national softball championship in Imphal.

Manipur defeated Haryana 16-1, Rajasthan defeated Jammu and Kashmir 20-18, Chhattisgarh defeated Chandigarh 11-0, Kerala defeated Chhattisgarh 16-4, Delhi defeated Manipur 12-0 and Madhya Pradesh defeated Rajasthan 12-0.

In the boys' section, Delhi defeated Uttar Pradesh 10-0 in the league round today.

Jammu and Kashmir defeated Haryana 10-3, Kerala defeated Chandigarh 11-0, Andhra Pradesh defeated Pondicherry 10-0, Chandigarh defeated Uttar Pradesh 20-0, Kerala defeated Delhi 20-5, Chhattisgarh defeated Punjab 8-2 and Rajasthan defeated Jammu and Kashmir 18-15.

Table tennis: Imphal West (E) emerged champions, defeating Imphal West (C) 3-1 in the men's team event of the 34th state and inter-district table tennis championship at indoor stadium, Imphal.

In the junior boys' team competition, Imphal West (A) beat Thoubal 3-1 to become champions. In sub-junior boys' segment, Bishnupur (A) beat Imphal West (A) 3-0.

Media cricket: Doordarshan Kendra lifted their maiden title in the Raishmodi Nunisa inter-media six-a-side cricket tournament of the 4th North East Media Sports Festival, defeating Prag News in a tiebreak bowlout at Nehru Stadium in Guwahati today.


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.