Lok Sabha and Assembly by-polls: Counting of votes on in Bihar, WB, Gujarat, UP

New Delhi, June 5 (ANI): Counting of votes has begun for four Lok Sabha and five Assembly by-elections spread over Bihar, West Bengal, Gujarat and Uttar Pradesh.

Polling for these seats was held on Sunday.

By-election to Maharajganj Lok Sabha seat in Bihar was necessitated after the death of RJD MP Uma Shankar Singh earlier this year.

By-election to Howrah Lok Sabha seat in West Bengal assumes significance as it comes in the aftermath of chit fund scam and also ahead of Panchayat elections in the state.

In Gujarat, two Lok Sabha and four Assembly constituencies went to polls. While Lok Sabha seats are Banaskantha and Porbandar, the Assembly constituencies are Limdi, Morva-Hadaf, Jetpur and Dhoraji.

In Uttar Pradesh, counting of votes has begun for Handia Assembly seat in Allahabad district and the result is expected by this afternoon. (ANI)


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.