Jharkhand CM Hemant Soren to expand Cabinet today

Ranchi, Aug 4 (ANI): Jharkhand Chief Minister Hemant Soren will expand his cabinet today by inducting six ministers.

According to reports, of the six ministers, four will be from the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) and one each from the Congress and the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD).

The four JMM legislators likely to take the oath of office are Haji Hussain Ansari, Jai Prakash Bhai Patel, Simon Marandi and Champai Soren. Geetashree Oraon of the Congress and Suresh Paswan of the RJD are also likely to be sworn in.

Soren had taken oath along with Congress' Rajendra Prasad Singh and RJD's Annapurna Devi on July 13.

Soren had staked claim on July 9 for the formation of a government in alliance with Congress, RJD, smaller parties and independent MLAs.

The alternative coalition comes nearly six months after the imposition of President's rule, which was to end on July 18.

The Central rule was imposed on January 18 after the JMM withdrew support to the BJP-led Arjun Munda Government on January 8. (ANI)


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.