India to open vs Windies

Calcutta: Hosts India will open their campaign in the ICC Women's World Cup against the West Indies at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on January 31 next year.

The International Cricket Council on Monday released the schedule and format of the ICC Women's World Cup India to be held in Mumbai from January 31 to February 17.

Defending champions England will begin their trophy defence also at Wankhede against Sri Lanka on February 2.

The top eight women's sides will battle it out to be crowned world champion across five venues. Holder England, along with New Zealand, Australia and India have already qualified for next year's event by virtue of finishing in the top four of the World Cup 2009.

Joining the top four will be the top four sides from the World Cup Qualifier 2011, which was held in Bangladesh in November last year.




England, India, West Indies, Sri Lanka.

Group B: Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa.

India's fixtures

Jan. 31: vs West Indies; Feb. 4: vs England; Feb. 6: vs Lanka


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.