'Incensed' Trott had to sit down with team shrink after 'wrong out' decision in day two of first Ashes

London, July 12 (ANI): England batsman Jonathan Trott reportedly had to sit down with the team psychologist to cool down after an umpiring mistake sent him into a meltdown on day two of the first Ashes Test against Australia.

According to the Mirror, England has been offered an apology by the International Cricket Council (ICC) after the No.3 fiery batsman was given out LBW first ball following a TV umpire review, despite having a not-out from the field umpire, after which captain Alastair Cook had to usher him from the field.

The report further said that Trott was so angered by the decision, even though England recovered enough to finish the day 80-2, that he had to sit down with team psychologist Mark Bawden in a bid to come to terms with his injustice.

Although Trott had claimed that he had clipped the ball before it struck his pad, the replays seen by third umpire Marais Erasmus failed to show conclusive evidence, after which Erasmus over-turned the decision of on-field umpire Aleem Dar.

Expressing his frustration over the incident, England bowler James Anderson, who had claimed 5-85, said that it was wrong as Trott had hit the ball and still was given out, adding that even though he supported technology on the field as after it came in, more decisions are given out correctly than wrongly, Trott was still given out.

According to the report, as the hotspot camera, which is used to pick up any contact with the bat, was in replay rather than record mode, so when Trott appeared to clip the ball before it hit his pad, there was no evidence from the most crucial camera of the lot.

However, the report added, Erasmus used the other inconclusive camera angles to decide that Trott had not made contact and overturned the original decision.

The report further said that England coach Andy Flower subsequently demanded answers from the referee's office given that Erasmus refused to overturn an earlier decision when teenage Australian sensation Ashton Agar may have been stumped for just six on his way to a record-breaking 98.

An England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) official said that although the ICC apology reflected the fact that a mistake has been made, the incident, however, highlighted how important it is the right protocols are followed. (ANI)


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.