ICC charges Ramdin for 'wrong catch' claim in Champions Trophy opener against Pak

Karachi, June 9 (ANI): The International Cricket Council (ICC) has charged West Indies wicket-keeper Denesh Ramdin for wrongly claiming a catch against Pakistan in their ICC Champions Trophy opener win.

The incident took place when Ramdin 'caught' an edge off Pakistani captain Misbah-ul Haq's bat before the batsman had opened his account, following which Australian umpire Steve Davis gave Misbah out, the Express Tribune reports.

However, the report added, replays showed that while Ramdin had initially caught the ball, he had subsequently allowed it to spill out of his grasp.

Stating that Ramdin had been charged with a Level Two breach of the Code of Conduct which relates to 'conduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game', the ICC said that Ramdin has pleaded not guilty to the offence, adding that a hearing will take place in London on Monday.

The report further said that if found guilty, Ramdin could be fined between 50 and 100 percent of his match fees and may be suspended for up to two one-day internationals.

Slamming Ramdin's actions, Misbah had said that he would also would have been disappointed if the Pakistan wicket-keeper did the same thing that Ramdin did. (ANI)


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.