Hockey India National championship in Pune

Pune, May 24 (IANS) The third Hockey India (HI) Senior Men's National Championship will be held at the Shiv Chhattrapati sports complex here and Major Dhyan Chand Hockey stadium, Pimpri from May 28 to June 10.

Speaking to reporters here Friday, organising secretary and also the Joint Secretary of HI Manoj Bhore said the championship, supported by the Maharashtra Olympic Association and the Department of Youth Services, will see 38 teams in action and will be played on a league-cum-knock-out basis.

The teams have been divided into eight pools for the preliminary league. The toppers of each pool will make it to the quarterfinal.

The pools:

Pool A: Hockey Punjab, Hockey Delhi, Association of Indian Universities, Hockey Arunachal.

Pool B: Air India Sports Promotion Board, Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy, Hockey Puducherry, Tripura Hockey, Chhattisgarh Hockey.

Pool C: Hockey Karnataka, Services Sports Control Board, Hockey Bihar, Goan Hockey, Sports Authority of India.

Pool D: Hockey Haryana, Uttar Pradesh Hockey, Hockey Maharashtra, Hockey Andaman & Nicobar, Mumbai Hockey Association.

Pool E: Hockey Jharkhand, Hockey Odisha, Hockey Himachal Pradesh, Bengal Hockey Association, Comptroller and Auditor General.

Pool F: Railway Sports Promotion Board, Hockey Bhopal, Sashastra Seema Bal, Hockey Jammu and Kashmir, Namdhari XI.

Pool G: Manipur Hockey, Hockey Andhra Pradesh, Hockey Uttarakhand, Hockey Kerala.

Pool H : Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu, Chandigarh Olympic Association, Hockey Assam, Hockey Rajasthan.

The event will also be telecast live on DD from the quarterfinals stage and will be played under floodlights.


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.