Hariprasad elected to Rajya Sabha from Karnataka

Bangalore, Aug 22 (IANS) Congress general secretary B.K. Hariprasad was Thursday elected to the Rajya Sabha unopposed from Karnataka.

Assembly secretary and returning officer P. Omprakash announced Hariprasad's election after the expiry of the last date for withdrawal of nominations.

The Congress leader from Karnataka was the only one in the fray. The Janata Dal-Secular and the Bharatiya Janata Party did not field anyone as they have only 40 members each in the 225-seat assembly.

The Congress has 122 members. The remaining are from smaller parties and independents.

Though two independents filed nominations, they were rejected as they were not supported by 10 assembly members as required by law.

The bypoll followed the resignation of Congress Rajya Sabha member Anil Lad after he got elected to the Karnataka assembly in May.


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.