Harbhajan to captain Rest of India in Irani Cup

ROI will take on Ranji champs Karnataka in Bangalore.

Harbhajan Singh will lead the Rest of India (RoI) side against Ranji Trophy champions Karnataka in the Irani Cup to be held in Bangalore, February 9-13.

The 15-man RoI squad includes Gautam Gambhir, Amit Mishra, Dinesh Karthik, Varun Aaron and Parvez Rasool.

Harbhajan had led the team last year too with RoI winning the Irani Cup for the eighth consecutive time. The tie is a good platform where domestic players and those who have represented India can make an impression on the national selectors.

Karnataka won the Ranji Trophy Sunday beating Maharashtra in Hyderabad.

The RoI squad: Harbhajan Singh (captain), Jiwanjyot Singh, Gautam Gambhir, Baba Aparajith, Kedar Jadhav, Ankit Bawne, Dinesh Kartik, Amit Mishra, Pankaj Singh, Ashoke Dinda, Varun Aaron, Parvez Rasool, Anureet Singh, Natraj Behera, Mandeep Singh.


Ricky Ponting bowls as Adam Gilchrist looks on during the Ricky Ponting Tribute Match at Aurora Stadium on January 30, 2014 in Launceston, Australia. (Photo by Scott Barbour/Getty Images)
1 / 19
Getty Images | Photo by Stringer / Scott Barbour
Sun 2 Feb, 2014 1:30 PM IST


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.