England name unchanged squad for second Test

London, July 15 (IANS) England selectors Monday named an unchanged 13-member squad for the second Ashes Test starting Thursday at the Lord's.

"We have selected the same squad for the Lord's Test as this continues to provide options for (captain) Alastair Cook and (team director) Andy Flower," national selector, Geoff Miller said.

England won the first Test in a thriller by 14 runs against Australia at Trent Bridge and Miller congratulated captain Cook and his team for the win.

"It was a fantastic start to the Investec Test series with both sides showing a huge amount of skill and determination. I would like to congratulate England on showing a great deal of composure to win by 14 runs," said Miller.

He also hoped that both the teams will continue to perform the same way in the remaining four tests. "I have no doubt that the rest of the series will be equally compelling." he added.

Cook and Flower also face a tough decision over the selection of Steven Finn, Tim Bresnan or Graham Onions as the third seamer for the next test.

The squad:-

Alastair Cook (captain), James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Ian Bell, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Steven Finn, Graham Onions, Kevin Pietersen, Matt Prior, Joe Root, Graeme Swann and Jonathan Trott.


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.