England `confused` over Rogers' DRS `not out` decision, says Broad

London, Aug 11 (ANI): England fast bowler Stuart Broad has said that his side was confused as to why Australian opener Chris Rogers was not given out when on 20 in the second day of the fourth Ashes Test after he was reprieved by the Decision Review System (DRS).

According to Metro.co.uk, Rogers was fortunate enough to register a first Test century as Australia closed day two of this fourth Ashes encounter in Durham 16 runs behind England's first-innings on 222 off five.

The report further said that Broad thought that he had Rogers caught behind early in his innings but he survived on review after Hot Spot suggested he had not hit the ball, and also escaped the subsequent LBW review initiated by third umpire Marais Erasmus on an umpires call.

Stating that the Ashes hosts were confused when Rogers was not given out given that they were all celebrating, Broad, who got four wickets on Saturday, said that he believes that it is the first time that any of his teammates have experienced an out-reviewed decision.

However, Broad also said that the he believed that the with a change in ICC rules in October, such a decision would be given out, adding that he is baffled as if it had been a LBW decision which showed an edge then it would had been given out.

According to Broad, despite the umpires' explanation which defended their decision to not give out to Rogers as coming under the rules, Broad stated that the players were left unsatisfied and confused, although they were helpless to do anything further.

Meanwhile, Broad hoped that England could make early inroads with the new ball on Sunday, which will be due in 5.2 overs, adding that they needed to be patient with the new ball. (ANI)

--

Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.

Matches