EC announces poll dates for five states, SC's right to reject button to be incorporated

New Delhi, Oct.4 (ANI): Chief Election Commissioner V.S. Sampath announced the polling dates for five states, including Delhi, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan and Mizoram, on Friday.

Addressing a news conference this afternoon, Sampath said elections for Chhattisgarh would be held first and in two phases-on November 11 and 19.

Elections in Madhya Pradesh would be held on November 25. Elections in Rajasthan would be held on December 1, while elections in Delhi and Mizoram would be held on December 4, he added .

Sampath also said that the Model Code of Conduct for elections in these five states comes into effect immediately.

He said that in all 11 crore people would be eligible to exercise their right to vote at 1, 30,000 polling stations in these five states.

He also said that all measures are in place to conduct free and fair polls, including elaborate security arrangements.

Sampath said due protection would be given to Scheduled Tribe and Scheduled Caste voters and at vulnerable booths.

He announced that for the first time, the Election Commission would be deploying Central Awareness Observers to motivate voters to exercise their franchise in a bid to increase the voter turnout.

Taking note of the Supreme Court's recent ruling, giving voters the right to reject candidates in the electoral fray, Sampath said the Election Commission is taking adequate measures to educate both voters and officials deployed for election duty for the same.

He said the counting of votes for all five states would take place on December 8. (ANI)


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.