Donkupar, Laloo file papers

Shillong, Feb. 1: Former Meghalaya chief minister Donkupar Roy, education minister R.C. Laloo and former Khasi Students' Union (KSU) general secretary Hamletson Dohling were among the 39 candidates who filed their nomination papers today for the February 23 polls.

From Wednesday and till this evening, 63 candidates have filed their nominations in different parts of the state.

Roy, who is also the UDP president, will seek re-election for the sixth consecutive time from Shella constituency in East Khasi Hills while Laloo, a prominent Congress leader, will look to retain his seat from Jowai in the West Jaintia Hills.

Dohling will be making his electoral debut as a UDP nominee from Mylliem constituency in the East Khasi Hills.

Former minister Saleng A. Sangma, who was denied a Congress ticket, filed his nominations for Gambegre constituency in the West Garo Hills as an Independent nominee.

The other prominent candidates include former Assembly Speaker and Congress legislator Martin M. Danggo (Ranikor), UDP legislator Donbok Khymdeit (Mawhati), and journalist-turned politician Manas Chaudhuri (South Shillong) of the Congress.

Former legislator Advisor Pariong, who will be taking on his mentor and veteran politician Hopingstone Lyngdoh, filed his nominations for the prestigious Nongstoin seat in West Khasi Hills as a Congress candidate.

In 2008, Pariong had contested as an HSPDP nominee from Pariong constituency, also in West Khasi Hills, where he emerged victorious.

Women candidates include Rona Khymdeit of the UDP from Nongpoh constituency, Fenela Lyngdoh Nonglait of the HSPDP from Mawthadraishan and Independent candidate Pelcy Snaitang from Mawshynrut constituency.


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.