Dhoni opts to bat in dead rubber against Pakistan

New Delhi, Jan 6 (IANS) A fit-again India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and opted to bat in the dead third rubber against Pakistan at the Ferozeshah Kotla here Sunday.

India made two changes with Virender Sehwag and Ashok Dinda making way for Ajinkya Rahane and green horn Shami Ahmed.

Pakistan made one change: Umar Akmal replaced Azhar Ali.

Dhoni was doubtful for the match with a sore back but recovered in time.

Pakistan have already won the series 2-0.

India: Gautam Gambhir, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain/wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma and Shami Ahmed

Pakistan: Nasir Jamshed, Mohammad Hafeez, Younis Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Kamran Akmal (wicketkeeper), Junaid Khan, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal and Mohammad Irfan.

Umpires: S. Asnani and B.F. Bowden (New Zealand)

TV umpire: V.A. Kulkarni

Match referee: Roshan AMahanama (Sri Lanka)


Did you know that you can get stories like this on the Yahoo mail app?
Download it here.