Depleted West are confident

Guwahati: West Zone will have little options to choose from when they name the playing XI to face South Zone in the second semi-final of the Deodhar Trophy, at Nehru Stadium, here on Tuesday.

With Rohit Sharma and Dhawal Kulkarni ruled out due to injuries, the side will bank on the captain himself, Yusuf Pathan, Ambati Rayudu and Abhishek Nayar, to deliver.

"We will have to manage with whoever we have in our fold and I hope, all of us perform on Tuesday," Parthiv said.

"It is a good wicket at the Nehru Stadium and we will look forward to a great match tomorrow," he added.

Pressure will be on paceman Munaf Patel, who is back from a long injury layoff, to perform. The selectors, including Sandeep Patil, are here and Munaf will like to perform.

South Zone will miss the services of Robin Uthappa, who is out for three weeks following an ankle sprain he suffered during their match against East on Sunday. He flew back home on Monday afternoon.

For captain Dinesh Karthik, it will, however, be not much of a concern as youngsters like Baba Aparajith and Sachin Baby are in fine touch.

"West are always a good side. It will be an interesting battle and we will face them like we do in case of others," Karthik had said after winning against East in the quarter final on Sunday.

The weather will, once again play a key role. An overnight shower could lead to change in the team composition.


West Zone (from): Parthiv Patel (capt/ wk), Sheldon Jackson, Ambati Rayudu, Siddesh Lad, Kedar Jadhav, Yusuf Pathan, Abhishek Nayar, Akshay Darekar, Jaydev Unadkat, Munaf Patel, Rush Kalaria, Rakesh Dhruv, Kamlesh Makwana, Manpreet Juneja and Vijay Zol.

South Zone (from): Dinesh Karthik (capt), Muralidharen Gautam (wk), Baba Aparajith, Ashish Reddy, Srikar Bharat, Stuart Binny, Abhimanyu Mithun, Lokesh Rahul, Sachin Baby, Sanju Samson, Sandeep Warrier, Bodavarapu Sudhakar, Hanuma Vihari and Vinay Kumar.


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.