Delhi to now have six police ranges

New Delhi, Sep 10 (IANS) Delhi Police Tuesday extended the number of ranges from four to six for improving supervision and better law and order enforcement in the city, said an officer.

The two new ranges will be eastern and new Delhi. Earlier, there were southeastern, central, northern and southwestern ranges.

According to the officer, the decision was taken on the orders of Lt Governor Najeeb Jung.

"The east and northeast districts which will come under the new eastern range while the new Delhi range will comprise with New Delhi district, railways and Metro," said an officer.


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.