Three groups of nine teams each. Each team will play eight matches at the League stage.

Three teams from Groups A and B, and two from Group C, will qualify for the Knockout phase.

The quarter-finals, semi-finals and final will be five-day games.

If in the Knockout phase, a result on first innings is not obtained at the end of the fifth day, then the match will be extended into a sixth day.

If a result on first innings is not obtained even at the end of the sixth day, then the winner will be decided by the spin of the coin.

Points system

Outright win ' Six points

Innings win/win by 10 wickets ' One bonus point

Tie on both innings ' Three points each

First Innings lead but no outright win ' Three points

Loss on first innings ' One point

Tie on first innings without outright result ' One point each

Outright loss ' No point

First innings results not achieved, with or without weather interference ' One point each


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.