C. P. Joshi and Ajay Maken to be General Secretaries of Congress Working Committee

New Delhi, June 16 (ANI): The Congress Party on Sunday announced that Ajay Maken and C.P. Joshi have been made general secretaries of the working committee of the party.

C.P. Joshi and Ajay Maken had submitted their resignations as ministers of the Central Government in the morning today. Their resignations have been accepted by President Pranab Mukherji .

The announcement of the inclusion of C.P. Joshi and Ajay Maken in the working committee was made by Janardan Dwivedi . He said that apart from party president Sonia Gandhi, Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh, Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi , Defence Minister A K Antony, and Ahmed Patel are among the members of the re-constituted working committee.

Oscar Fernandes, Vilas Muttamwar, Ghulam Nabi Azad and Birender Singh have been dropped as general secretaries.

Ajay Maken will head the Congress communication wing.

Digvijaya Singh and Gurudas Kamat have also been made members of the new working committee.

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh is slated to reshuffle the Cabinet on Monday. (ANI)


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.


  • No live matches are in progress.
    • Team flag for South Africa vs. Team flag for New ZealandNZSA
      2nd Test
      Sat, Aug 27, 2016
      Sat, Aug 27, 2016
      Centurion, South Africa
      New Zealand in South Afric...
    • Team flag for England vs. Team flag for PakistanPAKENG
      2nd ODI
      Sat, Aug 27, 2016
      Sat, Aug 27, 2016
      London, England
      Pakistan in England ODI Se...
    • Team flag for West Indies vs. Team flag for IndiaINDWI
      1st T20I
      Sat, Aug 27, 2016
      Sat, Aug 27, 2016
      Lauderhill, Florida, Usa
      India vs West Indies T20 S...