BJP sweeps Gujarat bypolls, RJD triumphs in Bihar

New Delhi, June 5 (ANI): The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Gujarat emerged victorious bagging five out of the six seats - two Lok Sabha and three assembly seats - to which bypolls were held last Sunday, while the JD (U) in Bihar is all set to suffer a setback in Maharajganj Lok Sabha seat.

BJP is also leading in the sixth assembly seat of Dhoraji, which fell vacant after Vithhal Radadia left Congress to join BJP and resigned as an MLA. BJP candidate Pravin Mankadia is fighting against Congress rival Haribhai Patel on the seat. The party is leading by 6,803 votes after 26 rounds of counting.

All the six seats were earlier with the Congress party.

The BJP registered a significant win in the Porbandar Lok Sabha seat where Vithhal Radadia, who was caught brandishing his gun at a toll booth last year when he was a Congress MP and later crossed over BJP, won the seat with over 1,28,000 votes.

Haribhai Chaudhary of BJP won the Sabarkantha Lok Sabha seat, which fell vacant after the death of Congress MP Mukesh Gadhvi, with the margin of more than 71,000 votes over his Congress rival Krishna Gadhvi, wife of Mukesh Gadhvi.

BJP's Jayesh Radadia, who also defected from Congress with his father Vithhal Radadia, won the Jetpur assembly seat defeating Jagdish Pambhar of the Congress.

Nimisha Suthar of the BJP won the Morva Hadaf (ST) assembly seat by defeating Congress candidate Bhupendrasinh Khant. The seat was held by Bhupendrasinh's mother Savita Khant, who died during the counting of assembly elections last December.

Former state minister and BJP leader Kiritsinh Rana won Limbadi seat by defeating Congress candidate Satish Patel.

The byelection was necessitated after Congress MP Soma Patel, who won Limbadi assembly seat too, resigned as an MLA. Congress had fielded his son Satish Patel on the seat.

Meanwhile, in Bihar, chief minister Nitish Kumar is all set to suffer a setback with JD (U) candidate PKShahi on the verge of losing to RJD'sPrabhunath Singh in the MaharajganjLokSabha seat.

The RJD has established a big lead of over 78,000 votes over the ruling JD(U) at the end of the 11th round of counting.

Congress nominee Jitendra Swami is still much behind.

After the 11th round, RJD's Prabhunath Singh had polled 2,34,651 votes, JD(U)'s PK Shahi bagged 1,56,400 votes and Congress' Jitendra Swami managed only 22,160 votes.

The bypoll was necessitated after the death of Umashankar Singh, an RJD MP and father of Congress candidate Jitendra Swami.

RJD chief Lalu Prasad said that the people of the state were fed up with the wrong policies of the Nitish government.

He said the result was a vote against Nitish Kumar and this was the beginning of the fall of the JD(U) in Bihar. (ANI)


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.