BJP clean sweeps Ahmedabad

Ahmedabad, Dec 20 (IANS) The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) made a clean sweep of 12 of the 17 seats in Ahmedabad. The Congress got four while the result of one was not available.

Chief Minister Narendra Modi was elected to the Gujarat assembly from Maninagar constituency on Ahmedabad's outskirts by more than 70,000 votes.

Amit Shah, a former Gujarat minister and an accused in the Soharabuddin Sheikh murder case, won from Naranpura.

He won by over 30,000 votes, compared to his previous victory margin of over 2.50 lakh.

In a surprise development, the Jamalpur-Khadia constituency elected the BJP, albeit by only 2,800 votes. The seat, considered a weak spot for the BJP, is dominated by Muslims.

In the newly formed Vejalpur constituency, Rakesh Shah of BJP won.

Congress' Tejasvi Patel, Karamsi Patel, Shailesh Parmar and Z. Shaikh captured the Viramgam, Sanand, Danilimda and Dariapur seats respectively.


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.