BJP announces Team Modi for 2014 Lok Sabha polls

New Delhi, July 19 (ANI): With its agenda as good governance versus bad governance, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Friday announced the formation of 20 panels to focus on various aspects of electioneering for the 2014 Lok Sabha polls under Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi's leadership.

BJP leader Ananth Kumar, who announced the list of 20 campaign committees, said they will be steered under Modi's leadership.

Kumar said senior BJP leaders Atal Bihari Vajpayee, Lal Krishna Advani and party chief Rajnath Singh will oversee the functioning of central poll panel, which is headed by Narendra Modi.

"We have formed the election campaign committee. This election campaign committee works under the guidance of Atalji, Advaniji and our national president Rajnath Singhji. It is under the chairmanship of Narendra Modi in which all our former Presidents i.e. Dr. Joshiji, Venkaiahji, Nitin Gadkariji, our two Leaders of Opposition, Sushma Swaraj and Arun Jaitley, Ananth Kumar, Thawar Chand Gehlot, Ram Lalji and our three chief ministers will be there. This is the committee," said Kumar.

"These 20 are the sub-committees under this central election campaign committee," he added.

Gopinath Munde and Ravi Shankar Prasad have been entrusted with the responsibility of preparing the chargesheet.

The electronic campaign, print media campaign will be looked after by Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley, Modi's aide Amit Shah and Sudhanshu Trivedi.

Murli Manohar Joshi will head the BJP's manifesto team for 2014, while former party chief Nitin Gadkari will be responsible for party's vision document.

Gadkari has also been given the special charge of overseeing Delhi assembly elections.

Late BJP leader Pramod Mahajan's daughter Poonam Mahajan, Navjot Singh Sidhu and Amit Shah have been included in a team, which has been given the responsibility of wooing the first-time voters. (ANI)


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.