It was a poor decision: Cook on Bell dismissal

The England captain said they were devastated after losing the Champions Trophy final to India.


England captain Alastair Cook said that they were devastated after losing the ICC Champions Trophy final to India by five runs at Edgbaston here Sunday.

After being put into bat, India made 129/7 off 20 overs after rain delayed the start of the match. In reply, the hosts could only manage 124/8.

"With 20-odd needed off 16 balls it was in our hands. There have been a lot of good performances, but at the moment we are a bit devastated," said Cook at the presentation ceremony.

"Clearly from there you would back yourself to win more times than you would lose in that situation, but it shows how quickly games can change in Twenty20 when you lose a couple of wickets," he said.

Asked if this was his worst day on England duty, the opener replied: "As a captain, yeah."

"It's a tough pill to swallow at the moment. We had high hopes coming in today of achieving something special.

"We got close. I'm proud of the way the lads have fought from being under a fair bit of pressure in this tournament."

Cook was unusually vocal in his criticism of Australian television umpire Bruce Oxenford for giving out Ian Bell stumped by Dhoni off left-arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja, the man-of-the-match for his 33 not out and two for 24.

It was a close call but Oxenford ruled in India's favour and a disbelieving Bell, on his Warwickshire home ground, was out for 13 with England in trouble at 46 for four.

"I thought it was a poor decision," said Cook. "I only saw the replay a couple of times on the Belly one. Maybe he (Oxenford) saw a different angle to the one we saw.

"It loomed pretty clear that he was in.

"But he's paid to make those decisions. If he's made the decision...it's an umpire's game isn't it?"

Matches