Lankans to play IPL as per plan: BCCI

There were concerns over their participation with the anti-Lanka protests in Tamil Nadu.

Sangakkara and Malinga are among the prominent Lankan stars in the IPL.

MUMBAI: The Board of Control for Cricket in India today said the participation of Sri Lankan players in the upcoming Indian Premier League would go "as per schedule" despite the uproar in Chennai against Sri Lanka over war crimes against Tamils.

Of the nine IPL teams, only Kings XI Punjab don't have a Sri Lankan in their squad. The BCCI had earlier expressed apprehension over the IPL-6 matches that would be played in Chennai, the centre of the political uproar.

Chennai Super Kings have two Sri Lankans in the squad: Nuwan Kulasekara and Akila Dhananjaya.

In February, Tamil Nadu chief minister J. Jayalalithaa had cancelled the Asian Athletics Championships saying Lankan players would not be allowed in the state.

Sri Lankans currently enlisted in the IPL:

Akila Dhananjaya (CSK)
Nuwan Kulasekara (CSK)
Jeevan Mendis (DD)
Sachithra Senanayake (KKR)
Lasith Malinga (MI)
Ajantha Mendis (PWI)
Angelo Matthews (PWI)
Kushal Janith Perera (RR)
Kumar Sangakkara (SH/DC)
Thisara Perera (SH/DC)