BCCI gets stricter

Getting affiliation becomes tougher for states and union territories.

New Delhi: For an aspiring state or Union territory to become part of the Board has become stricter than ever before with the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) tightening the affiliation rules.

The BCCI has made it clear that henceforth no “direct affiliation” would be given to anyone, except for those who meet the strict criteria.

This means that it will take years for a state like Mizoram, or a Union territory like Andaman and Nicobar Islands or Chandigarh, to become associated with the world’s richest cricket body and its players to compete in the BCCI- organised tournaments to aspire to play for the country.

At present, Mizoram and Uttrakhand are the only states which are not part of the BCCI, while Bihar (a former full member), Chhatisgarh, Manipur and Sikkim are associate members.

Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, and Nagaland are in the third rung. Of the seven Union territories, only Delhi, a founder member of the BCCI, is affiliated to the BCCI. The BCCI has also amended, albeit retrospectively, its constitution to give itself the mandate to hire personnel and equipment etc to produce “cricket content” for telecast. The BCCI Broadcast Services has already made debut with the recent home series against New Zealand.

At the same time, the BCCI has made the rule for electing president easy, besides giving an opportunity to former office- bearers to contest for the top post once again. And, anyone from across the country can contest for the top post from 2014, provided he has the requisite backing.

All these amendments were made in September, but the BCCI didn’t announce the changes. The BCCI fiercely protects its constitution, so no wonder that it’s not on its website.

MAIL TODAY has accessed the document containing the latest amendments to the 84-year-old Board’s constitution. And, by the way, all the amendments were “unanimously” approved by the general body.

Many experts feel that there was no pressing need to amend the affiliation rule.

“This has been amended to keep away associations who are striving to join the mainstream. Or, probably, the existing BCCI units don’t want to have one more entity sharing the huge money earned through TV rights income and IPL,” a member of the association trying to get affiliation told MAIL TODAY. They also point to the “imbalance” in the geographical distribution of BCCI members.

“There are four associations within Maharashtra — Mumbai, the Cricket Club of India, Vidarbha and the state body, while there are three in Gujarat (Saurashtra, Baroda and the state body),” he pointed out.

“Then, there are two in Andhra Pradesh — Hyderabad and Andhra. Why this huge anomaly, though it’s an old system?” While changing the constitution further, BCCI has allowed its president hold office for three full years without any challenge from 2014. However, president N Srinivasan will have to face election, provided there is a challenger.

It is widely believed that this bit of constitution was amended with the specific purpose of facilitating DDCA chief Arun Jaitley to assume presidency in 2014.

“But what is the assurance that Srinivasan or Jagmohan Dalmiya, who is close to Jaitley, would not like to have a second term? Only time will tell,” said a BCCI official.

While making amendments to its constitution, BCCI has given a chance to ex- officebearers to contest for the top posts again


Membership and jurisdiction of members :

3.(iii) Associate members: The central controlling body for cricket in any state within the territory of India other than Union territory and approved by the Board as associate member

Procedure for admission as an affiliate member and promotion as an associate member:

6.(B) There shall be no direct affiliation to the Board as a full member or as an associate member except as set out in Rule 6( A) and 6( B)

Powers & duties of Board:

8. (rr) To produce by itself the cricket content for telecast of cricket matches and/ or ceremonies by hiring or owning equipment & hiring necessary crew, technician etc

Election of office bearers and vice- presidents:

15. (i) The office bearers and the vice- presidents elected in the AGM in 2011 will hold office for 2 years which may be further renewed by election for 1 year by the general body. Successful candidates at this election held in 2013 shall hold office for 1 year. The office- bearers and vicepresidents elected from annual general meetings from 2014 shall hold office for 3 years.

(iii) (a) The candidate for the post of president shall be nominated on the principle of zonal rotation. This right of nomination of presidential candidate or candidates shall be with a zone for a period of three years. The zonal rotation would be: West Zone; Central Zone; South Zone; East Zone; North Zone

(b) The candidate/ candidates for the office of president shall be nominated by at least 2 full members from the zone whose turn it is as per rotation.

It is clarified that such candidate or candidates need not be from the same zone that is exercising its right of nomination by rotation.

(vi) Office bearers/ vice-presidents may be elected for one more term of three years.


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.