Australia opt to bat against India

Mohali, March 15 (IANS) Australia captain Michael Clarke won the toss and elected to bat against India in the third cricket Test at the Punjab Cricket Association (PCA) Stadium here Firday.

The first day of the match was washed out due to rain without a ball being bowled.

India made a change by dropping local hero Harbhajan Singh, who made way for Pragyan Ojha. Debutant Shikhar Dhawan got his Test cap from Sachin Tendulkar.

Australia made four changes. Brad Haddin comes in place of Matthew Wade, Steve Smith for Shane Watson, Nathan Lyon for Glenn Maxwell and Mitchell Starc for James Patinson.

India: Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Ravindra Jadeja, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain/wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Pragyan Ojha, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma

Australia: David Warner, Ed Cowan, Phil Hughes, Michael Clarke (captain), Steve Smith, Brad Haddin (wicketkeeper), Moises Henriques, Xavier Doherty, Mitchell Starc, Peter Siddle, Nathan Lyon


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.