Australia announce ODI squad for tour to India; Xavier Doherty replaces Fawad Ahmed

Author : Nishit Nakar
Sri Lanka v Australia: Group A - ICC Champions Trophy

Xavier Doherty has replaced Fawad Ahmed for the Indian tour

Cricket Australia have announced a 14-man squad for the one day internationals against India in October this year.

Michael Clarke and George Bailey have retained their roles of captain and vice-captain respectively, though Clarke’s availability depends on his fitness.

Brad Haddin has been named the wicketkeeper in the squad and replaces Matthew Wade, who has been out of form recently.

The other changes in the squad which was selected for the ODI series against England, which Australia won 2-1, saw Xavier Doherty and Moises Henriques replacing Fawad Ahmed and Josh Hazlewood. Shaun Marsh got among runs against Scotland and India A recently, but a hamstring injury in Cardiff on 14th September has ruled him out of Champions League T20 as well as the India tour.

In a release on the official Cricket Australia website, National selector John Inverarity gave his comments on the selection, saying, “Australia’s ODI team can take a great deal of encouragement and confidence from its recent performances in Scotland and England.

“The India Tour Squad looks to take this momentum into the forthcoming series and they know they will face stiff opposition from a very talented group of Indian players.

“It was pleasing to see that Aaron Finch and Nathan Coulter-Nile looked comfortable at international level and Shaun Marsh displayed some good form in his return to ODI cricket. Unfortunately for Shaun, he sustained a hamstring injury at Cardiff on 14 September and could not be considered for selection.”

Despite giving Wade an axe, Inverarity was optimistic about the keeper’s chances in the future.

“Matthew Wade has been omitted due to lack of form and has been replaced by Brad Haddin, who captured an Ashes series record of dismissals in July and August. Matthew is 25 years of age and has a great deal of natural ability both as a batsman and as a keeper. The NSP is confident that Matthew will regain form and press hard for selection in the not too distant future,” he said.

22-year-old Josh Hazlewood, despite being dropped, was in Australia’s plans as Inverarity said that the pace bowler could target an Ashes spot with good domestic performances, as the national selector talked about the focus on spin on this tour. Xavier Doherty was considered ahead of Fawad Ahmed, the Australian leg-spinner, who recently made his T20 and ODI debut against England and Scotland respectively.

“There will be a reduced need for pace bowling on this tour so the NSP has reduced the squad from 15 to 14 players and Josh Hazlewood has been omitted. Moises Henriques has been included as a pace bowling all-rounder and will provide the required flexibility in the squad. Josh is progressing well and with the injuries to James Pattinson and Mitchell Starc we anticipate that he will come into contention for Ashes selection with impressive domestic performances.

“As previously alluded to, Xavier Doherty has been included in the squad, in place of Fawad Ahmed, as the NSP feels that he is well suited to ODIs in India. Fawad bowled well with his limited opportunities in the rain affected series and better than his figures would suggest. The NSP looks forward to Fawad getting plenty of bowling in the busy domestic schedule that begins at the end of this month.

“After a long tour Michael Clarke’s back condition has flared up again and he has been selected subject to fitness. He has returned to Australia for further assessment and the NSP hopes that it will improve in time for the Indian tour.”

Australia are scheduled to play a T20 match on 10th October and 7 ODIs in India, starting from 13th October, and the National Selection Panel will select the T20 squad from the Australian players who are already in India for the Champions League T20.

Australia’s ODI squad for the tour of India: Michael Clarke (Captain), George Bailey (Vice-Captain), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Xavier Doherty, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Brad Haddin, Moises Henriques, Phil Hughes, Mitchell Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, Clint McKay, Adam Voges, Shane Watson.


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.