Assam's big win

Calcutta: While most of the attention in the East Zone leg of the Vijay Hazare Trophy matches on Thursday was on the Bengal versus Odisha tie, it was Assam who, probably, played the best cricket of the day.

Playing against Tripura, at the Eden, Assam lost the toss but won everything else thereafter to open their campaign with a thumping eight-wicket victory.

Opting to bat, Tripura found it difficult to negotiate the Assam bowlers. The three Assam seamers ' Abu Nechim Ahmed, Arup Das and Pritam Das ' took a wicket each within the first 15 overs. And Tripura didn't even cross the 50-run mark then. That was where they lost most of the ground.

With the top three failing, much depended on the experience of Ratra to pull his team up. Ratra lasted 43 balls, making 28 with the help of three boundaries. He remained the top-scorer of his side as Tripura folded for just 109 in 37 overs.

For Assam, off-spinner Gokul Sharma picked up four wickets, giving away 27 runs in 8 overs.

Brief scores

Tripura 109 in 37 ovs (G. Sharma 4/27). Assam 110/2 in 23 ovs (P. Das 40). Assam won by 8 wickets


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.