Akmal brothers dropped from Pak's Test team for Proteas tour

Islamabad, Jan 12(ANI): Pakistan selectors have named a 16-member Test team for their upcoming series against South Africa with Akmal brothers, Kamran, Umar and Adnan getting the axe.

Opener Nasir Jamshed, batsman Haris Sohail and pace bowlers Mohammad Irfan and Ehsan Adil were included in the squad for the Test series, starting from February 1 in South Africa, the Daily Times reports.

Pakistan would play three Tests against the world number one team in Johannesburg, Cape Town and Centurion.

Nasir and Irfan secured their places in the team with good performances during the short tour of India while young Ehsan has been inducted for his outstanding show in the President's Trophy and ongoing Quaid-e-Azam Trophy.

Haris was part of the ODI squad to India but did not get a game.

The selection committee has also recalled wicketkeeper-batsman Sarfraz Ahmad and batsman Faisal Iqbal, nephew of former Pakistan captain Javed Miandad.

Sarfraz last played a Test for Pakistan in 2010, in Hobart and his last ODI was in Colombo in June 2012.

Akmal brothers along with fast bowlers Wahab Riaz Aizaz Cheema and Mohammad Sami, batsman Mohammad Ayub and Afaq Raheem have been left out.

Asad Shafiq, who had missed the limited-overs tour to India due to a finger injury, has recovered and is back in the national team.

Left-arm spinner Abdur Rehman, who was banned by the ECB during last year's county season for failing a dope Test, also returns to the squad.

Pakistan Test squad:

Misbahul Haq (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Taufiq Umer, Nasir Jamshed, Azhar Ali, Asad Shafiq, Younus Khan, Sarfraz Ahmad (wicketkeeper), Umar Gul, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Irfan, Ehsan Adil, Saeed Ajmal, Abdur Rehman, Harris Sohail and Faisal Iqbal. (ANI)


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.